Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-127 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Silvio O. Conte Centers for Basic Neuroscience or Translational Mental Health Research (P50 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
May 25, 2028
Posted
Sep 1, 2026
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Mental & Behavioral Health
Official description from grants.gov

This notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) encourages applications for Silvio O. Conte Centers for Basic Neuroscience or Translational Mental Health Research. The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) seeks teams of integrative researchers working at different levels of analysis and employing novel, and creative experimental approaches to address high-risk, high-impact questions with the primary objectives of: (a) advancing basic brain and behavior research that will uncover underlying mechanisms that could provide the foundation for understanding mental disorders; (b) supporting the integration and translation of basic and clinical neuroscience research on severe mental illnesses; (c) advancing our understanding of the neurobehavioral mechanisms and trajectories of psychopathology that begin in development. This program is intended only for projects that could not be achieved using other, more standard grant mechanisms.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 685 $450,175 $166,962 – $799,127
FY 2025 600 $987,843 $427,193 – $1,695,032
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 987
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,998 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,666), Nonprofit (858), Business (222) of 4,998 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (175) · NY (134) · MA (106) · PA (85) · TX (31)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $24,765,147 · FY 2025
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  4. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 9, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Sep 9, 2026 Award ceiling removed (was $2,000,000)
  3. Sep 2, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  4. Sep 2, 2026 Deadline set: May 25, 2028
  5. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated