Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 25-543 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE): Future Computing Research (Future CoRe)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$600,000 – $12,000,000
Expected awards
~600
Application deadline
Feb 4, 2027
Posted
Jul 25, 2025
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The NSF CISE Directorate supports research and education projects that develop new knowledge in all aspects of computing, communications, and information science and engineering through the following Future Computing Research (Future CoRe) programs: Algorithmic Foundations (AF) program; Communications and Information Foundations (CIF) program; Computer Systems Research (CSR) program; Computing Education Research (CER) program; Cyber-Physical System Foundations and Connected Communities (CPS) program; Foundations of Emerging Technologies (FET) program; Human-Centered Computing (HCC) program; Information Integration and Informatics (III) program; Networking Technology and Systems (NeTS) program; Robust Intelligence (RI) program;and Software and Hardware Foundations (SHF) program; The CISE Future Computing Research program anticipates a portfolio of awards with a range of budgets and durations, including projects of smaller scope. Project durations and budgets must be commensurate with the scope of the proposed work up to the maximum limit of $1,000,000 with a duration up to 4 years. Typical projects are approximately $150,000 to $250,000 per year and are 3 to 4 years in duration. Projects are discouraged from exceeding $300,000 in any single year. Estimated program budget, number of awards, and average award size/duration are subject to the availability of funds.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,087 $380,991 $250,087 – $530,369
FY 2025 1,560
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,178
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises $600,000 – $12,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (10,321), Business (187), State government (6) of 10,699 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (95) · NY (70) · PA (62) · TX (61) · MA (58)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 11, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  2. Sep 10, 2026 Title updated
  3. Sep 10, 2026 Deadline moved: Sep 10, 2026 → Feb 4, 2027
  4. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced