Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-BJA-2026-172640 · Bureau of Justice Assistance

Open

BJA FY 2026 Invited to Apply -Byrne Discretionary Community Project Grants/Byrne Discretionary Grants Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“BJA sent an invitation to apply to all eligible recipients” — From the announcement
Award range
$0 – $8,000,000
Expected awards
~478
Application deadline
Oct 6, 2026 24 days left
Posted
Jun 17, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
  • Other / needs-review
  • Crime Victims & Survivors of Violence
  • General Public / Community-wide
  • Justice, Law Enforcement & Public Safety
  • Victim Services, Trafficking & Violence Response
Official description from grants.gov

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) is committed to advancing work that furthers the U.S. Department of Justice’s (DOJ) mission to keep our country safe and secure and uphold the rule of law and protect the rights of American citizens. OJP provides federal leadership, funding, and other critical resources to directly support law enforcement, combat violent crime, protect American children, provide services to American crime victims, and address public safety challenges, including human trafficking and the opioid crisis. This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) FY 2026 Byrne Discretionary Community Project Grants/Byrne Discretionary Grants Program. This opportunity seeks to support projects designated for funding pursuant to the Department of Justice Appropriations Act, 2026 (Pub. L. No. 119-74, Div. A, Title II.) to improve the functioning of the criminal justice system, to prevent or combat juvenile delinquency, and to assist victims of crime (other than compensation). The Congressional Joint Explanatory Statement accompanying the 2026 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies (CJS) Appropriations Act lists the designated projects, which the Act incorporates by reference, as stated in relevant part, below— • $537,978,926 is for discretionary grants to improve the functioning of the criminal justice system, to prevent or combat juvenile delinquency, and to assist victims of crime (other than compensation), which shall be made available for the OJP—Byrne projects, and in the amounts, specified in the table titled ‘‘Community Project Funding/Congressionally Directed Spending’’ included for this division in the explanatory statement described in section 4 (in the matter preceding division A of this consolidated Act): Provided, That such amounts may not be transferred for any other purpose; (Pub. L. No. 119-74, Div. A, Title II). Note that this NOFO is only for OJP-Byrne projects to be administered by BJA. Separate NOFOs will be posted and invitations sent for projects to be administered by OJP’s National Institute of Justice (NIJ), Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), and Office for Victims of Crime (OVC).

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.753 · Congressionally Recommended Awards

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.753), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $0 $0 – $0
FY 2025 2 $374,500 $337,750 – $411,250
FY 2024 468 $552,000 $241,723 – $963,000
FY 2023 265 $500,000 $234,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2022 243 $477,648 $208,767 – $890,463
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $8,000,000.

Who wins it Local government (606), Nonprofit (238), Higher education (57) of 980 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (82) · PA (41) · WV (38) · NY (25) · AL (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE CONNIE RICE INSTITUTE FOR URBAN PEACE $7,400,000 · FY 2023
  2. CITY OF STANTON $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  3. HOPE CENTER OF ORANGE COUNTY $5,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. ORANGE, COUNTY OF $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  5. VERMONT NETWORK AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT, INC $5,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 10, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 10, 2026 Status: closed → open
  2. Sep 10, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 29, 2026 → Oct 6, 2026
  3. Jul 30, 2026 Status: open → closed
  4. Jul 15, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 15, 2026 → Jul 29, 2026