Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-OVC-2026-172642 · Office for Victims of Crime

Open

OVC FY 2026 Invited to Apply - Byrne Discretionary Community Project Grants/Byrne Discretionary Grants Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“Funding will only be provided for the specific projects in the amounts designated in the Congressional Joint Explanatory Statement accompanying the 2026 CJS Appropriations Act.” — From the announcement
Award range
$0 – $3,500,000
Expected awards
~83
Application deadline
Oct 6, 2026 24 days left
Posted
Jun 17, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Income Security and Social Services
  • Direct Service Delivery
  • Children, Youth & Families
  • Crime Victims & Survivors of Violence
  • General Public / Community-wide
  • Justice, Law Enforcement & Public Safety
  • Victim Services, Trafficking & Violence Response
Official description from grants.gov

With this Notice of Funding Opportunity, OVC seeks to support projects designated for funding in the Department of Justice Appropriations Act, 2026 (Pub. L. No. 119-74, Div. A, Title II.) to improve the functioning of the criminal justice system, to prevent or combat juvenile delinquency, and to assist victims of crime (other than compensation).

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.753 · Congressionally Recommended Awards

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.753), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $0 $0 – $0
FY 2025 2 $374,500 $337,750 – $411,250
FY 2024 468 $552,000 $241,723 – $963,000
FY 2023 265 $500,000 $234,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2022 243 $477,648 $208,767 – $890,463
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $3,500,000.

Who wins it Local government (606), Nonprofit (238), Higher education (57) of 980 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (82) · PA (41) · WV (38) · NY (25) · AL (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE CONNIE RICE INSTITUTE FOR URBAN PEACE $7,400,000 · FY 2023
  2. CITY OF STANTON $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  3. HOPE CENTER OF ORANGE COUNTY $5,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. ORANGE, COUNTY OF $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  5. VERMONT NETWORK AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT, INC $5,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 10, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 10, 2026 Status: closed → open
  2. Sep 10, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 29, 2026 → Oct 6, 2026
  3. Jul 30, 2026 Status: open → closed
  4. Jul 15, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 15, 2026 → Jul 29, 2026