Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. O-OJJDP-2026-172638 · Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention

Open

OJJDP FY 2026 Invited to Apply - Byrne Discretionary Community Project Grants/Byrne Discretionary Grants Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“OJJDP sent an invitation to apply to all eligible recipients” — From the announcement
Award range
$0 – $4,200,000
Expected awards
~84
Application deadline
Oct 6, 2026 24 days left
Posted
Jun 17, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Law, Justice and Legal Services
  • Direct Service Delivery
  • Crime Victims & Survivors of Violence
  • Justice, Law Enforcement & Public Safety
  • Victim Services, Trafficking & Violence Response
Official description from grants.gov

This NOFO will support projects designated for funding pursuant to the Department of Justice Appropriations Act, 2026 (Pub. L. No. 119-74, Div. A, Title II.) to improve the functioning of the criminal justice system, to prevent or combat juvenile delinquency, and to assist victims of crime (other than compensation).

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 16.753 · Congressionally Recommended Awards

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (16.753), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $0 $0 – $0
FY 2025 2 $374,500 $337,750 – $411,250
FY 2024 468 $552,000 $241,723 – $963,000
FY 2023 265 $500,000 $234,000 – $1,000,000
FY 2022 243 $477,648 $208,767 – $890,463
FY 2021 0

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $4,200,000.

Who wins it Local government (606), Nonprofit (238), Higher education (57) of 980 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (82) · PA (41) · WV (38) · NY (25) · AL (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE CONNIE RICE INSTITUTE FOR URBAN PEACE $7,400,000 · FY 2023
  2. CITY OF STANTON $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  3. HOPE CENTER OF ORANGE COUNTY $5,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. ORANGE, COUNTY OF $5,000,000 · FY 2022
  5. VERMONT NETWORK AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT, INC $5,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 10, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 10, 2026 Status: closed → open
  2. Sep 10, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 29, 2026 → Oct 6, 2026
  3. Jul 30, 2026 Status: open → closed
  4. Jul 15, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 15, 2026 → Jul 29, 2026