Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 22-586 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
From $400,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jul 28, 2027
Posted
Apr 19, 2022
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

CAREER : The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. Activities pursued by early-career faculty should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research. NSF encourages submission of CAREER proposals from early-career faculty at all CAREER-eligible organizations . PECASE : Each year NSF selects nominees for the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) from among the most meritorious recent CAREER awardees. Selection for this award is based on two important criteria: The criteria are 1) performance of innovative research at the frontiers of science, engineering, and technology that is relevant to the mission of the sponsoring organization or agency; and 2) community service demonstrated through scientific leadership, education or community outreach. These awards foster innovative developments in science and technology, increase awareness of careers in science and engineering, give recognition to the scientific missions of the participating agencies, enhance connections between fundamental research and national goals, and highlight the importance of science and technology for the Nation’s future. Individuals cannot apply for PECASE. These awards are initiated by the participating federal agencies. At NSF, up to twenty-six nominees for this award are selected each year from among the PECASE-eligible CAREER awardees most likely to become the leaders of academic research and education in the twenty-first century. The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy makes the final selection and announcement of the awardees.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  2. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
  4. AUBURN UNIVERSITY $2,998,544 · FY 2025
  5. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $2,831,003 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 628 $389,288 $209,626 – $543,580
FY 2025 920 $368,108 $202,000 – $593,558
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,315
FY 2021 1,504

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,903 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,113), Business (451), Individuals (140) of 6,903 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (123) · NY (77) · TX (73) · MA (69) · CO (33)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $59,141,331 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SAN DIEGO $6,457,844 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,780,833 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER $2,999,998 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,087 $380,991 $250,087 – $530,369
FY 2025 1,560
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,178
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,699 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (10,321), Business (187), State government (6) of 10,699 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (95) · NY (70) · PA (62) · TX (61) · MA (58)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 573 $566,575 $308,334 – $894,239
FY 2025 826 $569,960 $350,857 – $899,906
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,094 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,049), Business (490), Individuals (460) of 6,094 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (108) · NY (78) · TX (44) · NC (24) · FL (23)
Largest recent awards
  1. WILLIAM MARSH RICE UNIVERSITY $2,600,000 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  3. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $2,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 113 $528,600 $237,499 – $775,500
FY 2025 559 $210,247 $37,874 – $406,540
FY 2024 839 $193,570 $94,373 – $399,241
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,233 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,837), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,233 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (107) · NY (89) · TX (77) · MA (74) · IL (51)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $8,399,997 · FY 2024
  3. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  4. ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY $6,430,848 · FY 2026
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 542 $400,000 $193,868 – $750,000
FY 2025 805 $632,661 $336,311 – $1,300,000
FY 2024 1,421
FY 2023 1,305
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,608 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,882), Business (367), Tribal government (20) of 6,608 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (80) · TX (75) · NY (61) · IL (25) · NC (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $31,161,280 · FY 2026
  2. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $23,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $16,902,789 · FY 2025
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $15,387,498 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $14,088,417 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 4, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 380 $304,939 $50,000 – $1,240,759
FY 2025 931 $305,000 $77,375 – $1,120,119
FY 2024 1,061
FY 2023 1,118
FY 2022 642
FY 2021 289

For comparison, this notice advertises From $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,421 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,479), Business (1,842), Individuals (2) of 4,421 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (141) · NY (79) · MA (70) · TX (58) · PA (27)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES $20,000,000 · FY 2026
  2. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  3. CORNELL UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Sep 6, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 11, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  2. Sep 11, 2026 Title updated
  3. Jul 31, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  4. Jul 31, 2026 Status: closed → open
  5. Jul 31, 2026 Deadline moved: Jul 22, 2026 → Jul 28, 2027
  6. Jul 23, 2026 Status: open → closed
  7. Jul 22, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced